The Next Big Adventure

Well I’ve been MIA for awhile…but I have a very good excuse!

For the last two years I’ve been working on a master’s degree in biology…and this Friday it all comes to a head! That’s right…I’m going to be defending my thesis and (hopefully!) finishing up graduate school.

But something else equally as exciting has been in the works…two weeks after I defend, I’ll be on a plane to the beautiful island of Bali to do a 30 day divemaster internship!

I’ll be doing this internship with the folks at Bali Scuba; a dive buddy of mine from my Scientific Diving Course did his training with them several years ago, and he absolutely raved about the experience. I’ve always found that personal¬†recommendations are the absolute best way to find out where to dive and who to dive with, so it wasn’t a hard decision!

As excited as I am, I have a lot of stuff to take care of before I go…picking the dive shop might have been the easiest part! For one thing, there are a number of vaccinations I have to get before I go, and some of them have to be done weeks in advance. Since this is a diving holiday, I want to make absolutely certain that my health is taken care of. It may not be the most physically demanding sport out there, but every time I hit the water I don’t want to have to worry about anything other than the dive.

One other very important thing I’ll have to take care of is health insurance. As a Canadian, I’ll freely admit that this is a topic that I’ve not had to worry about for a good part of my life, but not when it comes to diving! For one thing, I discovered that in British Columbia (my home province) I’m not fully covered in the event of a severe diving injury. As all divers know, a severe decompression injury can send you into a decompression chamber for several hours, possibly even for several different treatments. But in BC you’re only covered for so many ‘chamber rides’ every year (I believe the number is two). Now granted, these sorts of injuries are uncommon if you practice safe diving procedures, but accidents do occasionally happen, and I’d rather not have just one more issue to worry about if an accident happens to me.

If you’re diving with any sort of regularity (or diving AT ALL on vacation in another country) I strongly suggest that you take out SCUBA-specific insurance from the good folks over at the Divers Alert Network (DAN). They provide divers with all kinds of important medical information, and when you buy a membership you’re supporting much-needed research into diving medicine. Furthermore, you’ll get a subscription to their magazine when you join. They also offer trip insurance and gear insurance in addition to their SCUBA-specific medical insurance.

Well, that’s it for me for this week. Wish me luck for Friday! I’ll be back next week chatting more about how I’ll be preparing for my trip to Bali, and hopefully soon I’ll be able to get some refresher dives in!

Leave a Reply

